the second Hellenic Order in the hierarchy


Law n.106 (Off. Gaz. 171, issue A, dated 18 Aug. 1975)

The Order of Honour was established in 1975, replacing the Order of George I which was abolished after the regime change and the founding of the Third Hellenic Republic. It ranks second in priority and importance.

It is conferred on Greek citizens who have distinguished themselves in their efforts to serve the country in all sectors of public administration, commerce, shipping, industry, science, and the arts and letters. It is also conferred on foreigners with notable work who have contributed to enhancing Greece’s stature abroad.

The final form of the insignia was decided by Presidential decree in 1984. The cross of the
Order is made of deep blue enamel, and its center carries the head of goddess Athena in relief.
The head is surrounded by a white enamel band, bearing the inscription: “ONLY THE

The star of the Grand Cross and the Grand Commander both have eight radiating points with a blue enameled cross. The reverse side carries the emblem of the Hellenic Republic on white enamel, and an inscription in gold letters: “HELLENIC REPUBLIC 1975″ (i.e. the year of the Order’s establishment).

The ribbon accompanying the insignia is deep blue in colour, like the cross, and has a narrow gold border on both edges.

Like the other Orders, the Order of Honour consists of five classes: the Grand Cross, the Grand Commander, the Commander, the Gold and Silver Cross.