The President of the Republic regulates the functions of the institutions of the Republic (article 30 par. 1).

The President is elected by Parliament and has the right to re-election only once.

The elected President, before assuming his duties, takes, before Parliament, an oath, the form of which is laid down in the Constitution.

The Oath of the President of the Republic

(article 33 par. 2)

“ I swear in the name of the Holy, Consubstantial and Indivisible Trinity to safeguard the Constitution and the laws, to ensure their faithful observance, to defend the national independence and territorial integrity of the Country, to protect the rights and liberties of the Greeks and to serve the general interest and the progress of the Greek People. ”

The Tenure of the President (article 30)

The President is elected for a term of five years. This may be extended in two cases:

  • In the event of war, until its termination.
  • Whenever the procedure for the election of a new President is not completed in time, the incumbent President shall continue in office until a new President is elected.

Eligibility for election (article 31)

To be eligible for election to the Presidency, a person must:

  • Have attained Greek citizenship at least five years before the election.
  • Be of Greek descent on the father’s or mother’s side.
  • Have attained the age of forty.
  • Be legally entitled to vote.

The office of President of the Republic is incompatible with any other office, position or function.

The procedure for the election of the President of the Republic (article 32)