Legislative Decree of 13 May 1926 (Off. Gaz. 180, issue A, dated 3 June 1926)

The Order of the Phoenix was established in 1926 to replace the previously existing Order of George I (which was re-established in 1935 with the restoration of the monarchy, only to be abolished again in 1975). The Order is named after the mythical bird, the Phoenix.

Until 1927 both Greeks and foreigners used to be admitted into the Order. When, in 1927, the Constitution forbade the conferring of decorations on Greek citizens, the Order continued to recognize the services rendered by foreigners.

After the Restoration of the Monarchy in 1935 and in accordance with the law of 19-4-1935 (Off. Gaz. 170, A) the Order could once again be conferred on Greek citizens.

Nowadays it is awarded to Greeks who have distinguished themselves in the fields of public administration, science, arts and letters, commerce, industry and shipping. It is also conferred on foreigners who have contributed to improving Greece’s stature abroad in the above fields.

The insignia of the Order of the Phoenix is cross-shaped. It is made of white enamel and on the cross the mythical phoenix with open wings is depicted in relief, rising out of the flames. The phoenix is also depicted in relief in the centre of the star. The reverse side of the cross bears the emblem of the Hellenic Republic.

The ribbon accompanying the insignia is deep yellow with a narrow black border on both edges.

Like the other Orders, the Order of the Phoenix consists of five classes: the Grand Cross, the Grand Commander, the Commander, the Gold and Silver Cross.